Oxford's Roc Thomas Wins Mr. Football Award

(AHSAA) MONTGOMERY- Oxford's Roc Thomas was named Mr. Football for the 2013 prep football season by the Alabama Sports Writers Association (ASWA). Thomas became the 32nd recipient of the annual award which was first presented in 1982.

Thomas, who rushed for 2,211 yards and 32 touchdowns last season, totaled 217 points and 15 of 17 first-place votes in the final vote tabulation by the ASWA Mr. Football Committee which is comprised of member sportswriters who cover high school sports. Thomas was also named Class 6A Back of the Year at the awards luncheon hosted by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association Wednesday at the Alabama Activity Center in Montgomery.

Class 4A Back of the Year Ronnie Clark of Calera was second in the voting with 130 points followed by Class 6A Lineman of the Year Rashaan Evans of Auburn (122) and Kendrick Doss of Florence (110). St. Paul’s linebacker Tre Williams was fifth with 96 points and Class 1A Back of the Year Jermarcus Brown of Pickens County, who set the state single-season record with 51 touchdowns in 2013, was sixth with 91 points.

All six were named to the ASWA Super 12 All-State Team along with utility athlete Keith Mixon, Shades Valley; quarterback Tyler Johnston, Spanish Fort; running back Nick Gibson, Pinson Valley; offensive lineman Jordan Sims, Homewood; running back Dantley Coker, Southside-Gadsden; and linebacker Shaun Hamilton, Carver-Montgomery.

The complete list of class player-of-the-year finalists and winners is listed below.

Class 1A


Jermarcus Brown, Pickens County (Back of the Year)

Terrance Hollingsworth, Berry

Brody Meeks, Lynn


Eddquerrion Harris, R.A. Hubbard (Lineman of the Year)

Ben Mills, Coosa Christian

Jatevin Horn, Marengo

Class 2A


Tyler Rogers, Mobile Christian (Back of the Year)

Marlon Bridges, Lanett

Jakoby Aldridge, Sweet Water


Baltazar Rubio, Tanner (Lineman of the Year)

Kadarrius Lawrence, Fultondale

Trent Thrash, Fyffe

Class 3A


Jamarius Henderson, Dale County ((Back of the Year))

Ryan Carpenter, Colbert County

Malik Miller, Madison Academy


Tyler Wright, Leeds (Lineman Back of the Year)

Exavyer Jackson, Piedmont

Frank Williams, Madison Academy

Class 4A


Ronnie Clark, Calera (Back of the Year)

Troy Dixon, UMS-Wright

C.J. Tolbert, Dadeville


Richard McBryde, Charles Henderson (Lineman of the Year)

Blake Bean, Oneonta

A.J. Smoot, Dora

Class 5A


Nick Gibson, Pinson Valley (Back of the Year)

Tyler Johnston, Spanish Fort

Dantley Coker, Southside-Gadsden


Jordan Sims, Homewood (Lineman of the Year)

Tre Williams, St. Paul's Episcopal

Tyler Carr, Southside-Gadsden

Class 6A


Racean “Roc” Thomas, Oxford (Back of the Year)

Kendrick Doss, Florence

Keith Mixon, Shades Valley


Rashaan Evans, Auburn (Lineman of the Year)

Shaun Hamilton, Carver-Montgomery

Keith Holcombe, Hillcrest-Tuscaloosa


2013 Racean “Roc” Thomas, Oxford, RB

2012 Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery, QB

2011 T.J. Yeldon, Daphne, RB

2010 Jamal Golden, Wetumpka, QB

2009 Coty Blanchard, Cherokee County, RB

2008 Clint Moseley, Leroy, QB

2007 Julio Jones, Foley, WR

2006 Larry Smith, Prattville, QB

2005 Andre Smith, Huffman, OL

2004 Jarod Bryant, Hoover, QB

2003 Chris Nickson, Pike County, QB

2002 JaMarcus Russell, Williamson, QB

2001 Brandon Cox, Hewitt-Trussville, QB

2000 Carnell Williams, Etowah, RB

1999 Cory Whisenant, Springville, RB

1998 DeMarco McNeil, Blount, DL

1997 Mac Campbell, Alexandria, RB

1996 Antoneyo Williams, Central-Tuscaloosa, RB

1995 Gorman Thornton, Jeff Davis, TE

1994 Dawud Rasheed, Shades Valley, RB

1993 Thomas Banks, West Jefferson, RB

1992 Freddie Kitchens, Etowah, QB

1991 Robert Davis, Homewood, RB

1990 David Palmer, Jackson-Olin, WR/RB

1989 Steven Coleman, Pike County, RB

1988 Darrell Williams, Vigor, RB

1987 Robert Jones, Parker, RB

1986 Larry Ware, Lee-Montgomery, RB

1985 Pierre Goode, Hazlewood, RB

1984 Roderick Green, Gardendale, WR

1983 Freddie Weygand, Emma Sansom, WR

1982 Tommy Compton, Vigor, RB

Information Courtesy: AHSAA


News Posts Archive