City of Gadsden Candidates

A full slate of candidates have qualified to run in the August municipal election in the City of Gadsden. When qualifying ended at 5pm this afternoon, a total of 23 candidates had filed the paperwork to run for the 8 positions that will be voted on in the election. In the race for the mayor's office - incumbent Sherman Guyton will face challenges from J. Holland, Mitchell James and Michael Shell. For the district 1 seat on the city council, Cynthia Toles will challenge incumbent Billy Harris. In district 2, incumbent Deverick Williams will face off against Warren Dates and Derrick Munson. Longtime incumbent Robert Avery will face a challenge from Thomas Worthy in district 3. Current council president Bob Echols will have 2 challengers in district 4 - Luther Abel and Mike Goodson. Council district 5 has attracted the largest number of candidates with Gloria Allenstein, Billy Billingsley Sr and David Williams face off against incumbent Bill Stewart. Councilman Johnny Cannon will face Al Oyler in District 6. And Gary Ashley and Chris Robinson will challenge incumbent Ben Reed in District 7. Gadsden's municipal election is set for Tuesday, August 26. If necessary, run-offs will be held on October 7. The election will also include the chance for Gadsden residents to approve the sale of alcoholic beverages on Sundays. Election officials remind voters that district lines have changed since the last municipal election, so registered voters will receive a postcard in the mail to verify your voting location.


News Posts Archive