Local Trio (Gamble, Carr & Foster) Named Alabama All-Stars

The roster for the Alabama - Mississippi All-Star Game were released Tuesday evening and a trio of players from East Alabama will play in the prestigious game.

Oxford's Tredarian Gamble, Southside's Tyler Carr and Donoho’s Justin Foster were named to the 40-man roster. Gamble is listed as a receiver, Carr is an offensive lineman and Foster is listed as a linebacker. The game features the top high school seniors from Alabama and Mississippi. So far twenty-two players on the Alabama roster have already committed to a Division I-A school (including Carr who is headed to Auburn). The game is set for December 13th in Montgomery. Alabama All-Stars have a six game winning streak. Listed below is the press release along with the entire Alabama roster & coaching staff. (Courtesy: AHSAA)

Twenty-two players already committed to Division I-A schools have been selected to the 40-player Alabama All-Star Team that will face Mississippi in the 28th annual Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Football Game Dec. 13 at Montgomery’s Cramton Bowl.

The roster, comprised of current high school seniors, was announced Tuesday by Alvin Briggs, Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association. The annual contest, an event of the AHSADCA and the Alabama High School Athletic Association, will be played for the fourth straight year in Montgomery.

Alabama’s All-Stars extended their winning streak to six games last December with a 21-17 win over Mississippi in the 27th all-star game. The hosts have won all three games played at Cramton Bowl since 2011 and own a 20-7 record in the series which dates back to 1988. This year’s head coach is Central-Phenix City’s Jamey DuBose.

The last loss came in December of 2007 when Mississippi won 26-7. That was the only year that two games were played. Alabama won 51-14 in the game in June of 2007 – still the most points by any team in the series.

Among the players selected to the Alabama squad are four running backs already verbally committed. Kerryon Johnson of Madison Academy is committed to Auburn, DeSherrius Flowers of Vigor to Alabama, Nick Gibson of Pinson Valley to Mississippi State, and Terrelle West of Clay-Chalkville to Middle Tennessee.

Other Auburn verbal commitments on the roster include offensive lineman Tyler Carr of Southside-Gadsden, tight end Jalen Harris of St. James and linebackers Richard McBryde of Charles Henderson and Darrell Williams of Hoover.

Other verbal commitments to Alabama are offensive linemen Brandon Kennedy of Wetumpka and Lester Cotton of Central-Tuscaloosa, defensive lineman Anfernee Jennings of Dadeville, linebackers Christian Bell of Hoover and Keaton Anderson of Florence.

Foley’s Tyler Cameron and Mountain Brook’s Jacob Carroll were selected as the quarterbacks. Both are currently uncommitted.

“The selection committee has once again put together an outstanding group of players,” Briggs said. “Several have already committed to SEC schools and several still uncommitted will likely wind up in the SEC next year. We know Mississippi’s team will be talented. We are expecting another outstanding game in the long-running series.”

Almost half of the Alabama squad (18) is still currently uncommitted.

Screen Shot 2014-10-14 at 10.42.37 PM.png

News Posts Archive