JSU's Grass Named Finalist for National Coach of the Year Award

Jacksonville State head football coach John Grass is one of 20 finalist for the Eddie Robinson Award presented by The Sports Network to the National Coach of the Year in the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS).

A national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries select the Robinson Award, now in its 28th year. The winner will be announced Dec. 15 at The Sports Network FCS Awards Banquet and Presentation.

In his first year as a collegiate head coach Grass led the Gamecocks to its fourth OVC Championship and fifth Division I playoff appearance. He is one of just five coaches in OVC history to lead his team to the Conference title in his first year.

After a loss to FBS Michigan State in the first game of the year, the Gamecocks have won nine-straight games, which is tied for the third-longest streak nationally. The nine overall wins equal the JSU record for most regular season wins by a coach in program history.

The Gamecocks currently ranks eighth nationally in total offense (500.3 yards/game) and 14th in total defense (304.1 yards/game). The team enters this week ranked No. 3 in the FCS Coaches Top 25.

Jacksonville State will play its regular-season finale on Saturdayat Southeast Missouri State at 1 p.m. The Gamecocks, who advanced to FCS quarterfinals last year after earning an at-large berth, will be making their fifth NCAA Playoff appearance since joining the Ohio Valley Conference in 2003 when the bracket is announced on Sunday.

2014 Eddie Robinson Award Finalists

Beau Baldwin, Eastern Washington (Big Sky Conference)

Rod Broadway, North Carolina A&T (Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference)

Clint Conque, Stephen F. Austin (Southland Conference)

Marty Fine, Bryant (Northeast Conference)

Broderick Fobbs, Grambling State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

John Grass, Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley Conference)

Dean Hood, Eastern Kentucky (Ohio Valley Conference)

Russ Huesman, Chattanooga (Southern Conference)

Chris Klieman, North Dakota State (Missouri Valley Football Conference)

Mike Kramer, Idaho State (Big Sky Conference)

Dale Lindsey, San Diego (Pioneer Football League)

Sean McDonnell, New Hampshire (CAA Football)

Joe Moglia, Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)

Tim Murphy, Harvard (Ivy League)

Tony Reno, Yale (Ivy League)

Mike Sanford, Indiana State (Missouri Valley Football Conference)

Brock Spack, Illinois State (Missouri Valley Football Conference)

Mark Speir, Western Carolina (Southern Conference)

Joe Susan, Bucknell (Patriot League)

Everett Withers, James Madison (CAA Football)

COURTESY: JSU SPORTS INFORMATION (www.jsugamecocksports.com)

News Posts Archive