Eleven Counties Receive Natural Disaster Status

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has declared natural disaster status for 11 Alabama counties because of damage from Tropical Storm Cindy. In our area, Cherokee County is included on the primary list, which qualifies them to seek emergency loans from the USDA Farm Service Agency. Farmers in Etowah, Calhoun, and DeKalb counties may also be eligible to apply since they are adjacent to Cherokee County. The natural disaster designation for the 11 counties comes after extensive crop damage caused from rainfall during the tropical storm back in June.


News Posts Archive