The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency is set to begin enforcing the Alabama Mandatory Liability Insurance Law. The law mandates that no person shall operate, register or maintain registration of a motor vehicle unless it is covered by a liability insurance policy.
Beginning Wednesday, November 1st, those who choose to drive without insurance will face a civil penalty. In addition, offenders will face a 90-day driver's license suspension, if they don’t pay the civil penalty within 45 days. The first offense will cost $200, the second offense $300, and third or subsequent offenses $400 each.