Cardavion Myers & Riley Russell Win ASWA Annual Awards

Class 4A Lineman of the Year award at the ASWA annual football banquet in Montgomery. Myers led the Bulldogs to a 12-2 record and a berth in the Class 3A semifinals in his first season at QB (previously a defensive back). And Russell finished his illustrious career with more than 200 tackles in his senior campaign. Below is the full list of ASWA winners including the state's top honor, Mr. Football.

(Courtesy: AHSAA -

Austin’s Asa Martin was named the 36th recipient of the Alabama Sports Writers Association’s Mr. Football Award Tuesday at the ASWA’s annual Player of the Year Awards luncheon, presented by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association. The luncheon was held at the Renaissance Hotel at the Convention Center in Montgomery. The NFHS Network, with Montomery Sports Network’s Tommy House producing, live-streamed the luncheon festivities and has it archived at

Martin, a 6-foot-1, 205-pound senior running back, rushed for 2,228 yards this season on 198 carries with 33 touchdowns, while adding two more scores and 399 yards on 20 receptions. The Black Bears went 12-1 on the year before losing 51-50 in the quarterfinals in overtime to eventual state champion Pinson Valley. Martin also rushed for more than 1,300 yards as a sophomore at Austin, but attended school out of state as a junior. Martin graduated in December and is attending Auburn.

Martin, who was also named the ASWA’s Class 6A Back of the Year for 2017, finished with 170 points and 10 first-place votes in ballots cast by the ASWA’s prep committee, while Pinson Valley quarterback junior Bo Nix was second with 144 points. Thompson quarterback Taulia Tagovailoa, selected Class 7A Back of the Year, was third with 143. Both Nix and Tagovailoa had one first-place vote, while Central-Phenix City wide receiver Justin Ross — who finished fourth with 111 points — had two firsts. Beaureguard’s La’Damian Webb, the 2016 Mr. Football, and 2017 Class 5A Back of the Year, was seventh with 64 points, behind Park Crossing’s Tank Jenkins (66) and Thompson’s Ahmad Edwards (65). All were named to the ASWA Super 12. Rounding out the Top 12 were offensive lineman Pierce Quick, Hewitt-Trussville; running back Jermaine Brown, St. Luke’s Episcopal; offensive lineman Clay Webb, Oxford; quarterback/defensive back Cardavion Myers, Piedmont; and quarterback J.D. Martin, Wetumpka.

In winning the Mr. Football, Martin becomes the fifth running back to win the award in the last seven years and second player from North Alabama in four years, joining Kerryon Johnson of Madison Academy in 2014. He is the first player from the Decatur area to win the award.

ASWA 2017 Back and Lineman of the Year Recipients

Class 7A Back of the Year: Taulia Tagovailoa, Thompson, quarterback Lineman of the Year: Pierce Quick, Hewitt-Trussville, offensive lineman

Class 6A Back of the Year: Asa Martin, Austin, running back Lineman of the Year: Marcus Jenkins, Park Crossing, defensive lineman

Class 5A Back of the Year: La’Damian Webb, Beauregard, running back Lineman of the Year: Malik Langham, Lee-Huntsville, defensive lineman

Class 4A Back of the Year: Symon Smith, UMS-Wright, running back Lineman of the Year: Riley Russell, Cherokee County, linebacker

Class 3A Back of the Year: Cardavion Myers, Piedmont, quarterback/defensive back Lineman of the Year: Andres Fox, Mobile Christian, defensive lineman

Class 2A Back of the Year: Jermaine Brown, St. Luke’s Episcopal, running back/quarterback Lineman of the Year: Baraskious Dowdell, Lanett, defensive lineman

Class 1A Back of the Year: Shamar Lewis, Sweet Water, running back Lineman of the Year: Devin March, Houston County, defensive lineman

AISA Back of the Year: Griffin McKenzie, Monroe Academy, quarterback Lineman of the Year: Trace Ott, Autauga Academy, offensive lineman


News Posts Archive