Diante Wood Wins Class 1A Player of the Year

Sacred Heart senior Diante Wood capped off his decorated career with another ASWA Class 1A Player of the Year award in Montgomery on Tuesday. It marked Wood's third consecutive player of the year honor. Wood averaged 23 points and 12 rebounds on his way to the Cardinals' fourth consecutive state championship.

(Hear from Diante Wood on his big win and the growth of the state of basketball in Alabama in the featured video.)

The Alabama signee also finished second in the Mr. Basketball award voting (the state's highest honor). Mountain Brook junior Trendon Watford won the honor after leading the Spartans to the Class 7A title. Lee-Montgomery's Zipporah Broughton won the 2018 Miss Basketball award.

2018 ASWA SUPER 5 - BOYS Trendon Watford, Mountain Brook – 77 (12 first-place votes) - Mr. Basketball Diante Wood, Sacred Heart – 39 (1) Kira Lewis, Hazel Green – 28 (1) Jaykwon Walton, Carver-Montgomery – 16 Anquaevious Pollard, Lanett – 14


News Posts Archive