Election Day Recap in Gadsden

Thursday, August 30, 2018


Gadsden Mayor Sherman Guyton will face challenger Carolyn Parker in October in a runoff election for that office. Guyton finished in first place Tuesday in a five candidate field, taking 47% of the votes cast. However, that was short of the majority vote he would have needed to win outright, so he will face Parker in the runoff election on October 9th. Parker finished second with 27% of the vote, followed by Mitchell James, who received 22%.

Tuesday was a good day for incumbent members of the Gadsden City Council as five of the seven current members were re-elected to another four-year term of office. Only District 5 Councilman Billy Billingsley will face a challenger in the Oct. 9th runoff. Billingsley came in second with 33% of the vote in the four person field to challenger Jason Wilson’s 42%.

The council members who won reelection this week by receiving more than 50% of the vote are Cynthia Toles, District 1; Deverick Williams, District 2; Thomas Worthy, District 3; Johnny Cannon, District 6; and Ben Reed, District 7. Kent Back will be joining the council representing District 5, where incumbent Bob Echols did not seek re-election. The Gadsden City Council’s new term of office will begin the first week of November.


Please reload

News Posts Archive