National Merit Semifinalists

Students from across Northeast Alabama are among the 16-thousand semifinalists for the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. James Perry is a semifinalist from Donoho high school. Mustafa Enver, Joshua Kelly, Anne Roberts, and Linton Roberts are all semifinalists from Gadsden High School. Andrew Edwards represents Oxford High. Jakob Willamson of Ohatchee High School made the list as well as Anna Leach from Westbrook Christian Academy.

To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and their high school must submit a detailed scholarship application, providing information about their academic record, participation in school along with community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. According to, out of the 16,000 semifinalist, 15,000 are expected to advance to the finalist level and only 7,500 will be chosen to receive scholarship funds totaling $31 million.


News Posts Archive